Startseite » Projekte » TUI Field to Fork Greece

TUI Field To Fork Greece - regenerative agriculture in tourism

Futouris and the TUI Care Foundation are taking their commitment on the island of Crete one step further and are working with local partners to help farmers and food producers switch to regenerative agriculture and link the players with the tourism industry. One focus here is reducing the carbon footprint of agricultural products.

Project goals

  1. Training farmers in Crete and Rhodes on regenerative agricultural practices.
  2. Supporting farmers who are already practicing sustainably in converting to regenerative agriculture.
  3. Training hotels and food producers to calculate and reduce the carbon footprint of food.
  4. Networking farmers with food producers and hotels to increase sales of regeneratively grown agricultural products in the tourism sector.
  5. Development of tasting events for regeneratively grown agricultural products for guests
  6. Transferring the ideas and concept from Crete to the island of Rhodes.

The effects of the climate crisis hit farmers particularly hard

Farmers are particularly suffering from the effects of the climate crisis. The loss of biological diversity, water scarcity and increasingly frequent extreme climate phenomena lead to crop failures and yield fluctuations.

At the same time, the food industry is one of the main causes of the climate crisis and the loss of biodiversity. For example, industrial agriculture contributes around 25% of global greenhouse gas emissions.

 

In some areas of the southern Aegean in Greece, the influence of desertification and land degradation can already be seen. This leads to a growing need for chemical agents to maintain and secure production, which in turn increases biodiversity loss and climate change. Regenerative agricultural practices help prevent emissions while removing CO2 from the atmosphere and storing it in the soil, as well as improving soil health and creating biodiversity.

However, a switch to regenerative agriculture is made more difficult by various factors, such as farmers’ lack of experience and knowledge of the basic concepts.

Futouris and TUI Care Foundation are expanding their commitmentTo address these challenges, Futouris and the TUI Care Foundation, in collaboration with the Sustainable Food Destination Organization (SFDO), launched the TUI Field to Fork Greece project. The goal is to support 300 farmers on the Greek island of Crete and 200 on the island of Rhodes in switching to regenerative agricultural practices. A comprehensive learning and practice cycle is implemented, with a particular focus on reducing the carbon footprint of agricultural products. This particularly affects the production of olive oil, wine, bananas, avocados, honey and herbs. In addition, the farmers involved will be networked with 14 food businesses and the tourism industry, including eight hotels that are partners in the program. The goal is to create improved income opportunities, expand the range of sustainable foods and raise awareness among employees and tourists about regenerative food production. For this purpose, employees of the participating companies are trained to better understand the advantages of sustainable practices in the company and to recognize the necessity and urgency of the changes. The goal is to achieve long-term commitment and interest in the topic of sustainable food. In addition to the eight hotels, a local retail chain is also part of the program to offer sustainable food to tourists and the local population. All of these measures are intended to create sustainable food supply chains in tourism and other areas.

To address these challenges, Futouris and the TUI Care Foundation, in collaboration with the Sustainable Food Destination Organization (SFDO), launched the TUI Field to Fork Greece project. The goal is to support 300 farmers on the Greek island of Crete and 200 on the island of Rhodes in switching to regenerative agricultural practices. A comprehensive learning and practice cycle is implemented, with a particular focus on reducing the carbon footprint of agricultural products. This particularly affects the production of olive oil, wine, bananas, avocados, honey and herbs.

In addition, the farmers involved will be networked with 14 food businesses and the tourism industry, including eight hotels that are partners in the program.

 

The goal is to create improved income opportunities, expand the range of sustainable foods and raise awareness among employees and tourists about regenerative food production. For this purpose, employees of the participating companies are trained to better understand the advantages of sustainable practices in the company and to recognize the necessity and urgency of the changes. The goal is to achieve long-term commitment and interest in the topic of sustainable food. In addition to the eight hotels, a local retail chain is also part of the program to offer sustainable food to tourists and the local population. All of these measures are intended to create sustainable food supply chains in tourism and other areas.

Joint project is based on previous project in Crete

The current project builds on the joint project “Crete – on the way to becoming a model destination for sustainable nutrition”, which Futouris and the TUI Care Foundation supported in Crete until 2019. Here the basis for a more sustainable food supply in tourism was created by introducing the concept of sustainable agriculture and creating links with the tourism sector. In total, around 200 farmers were trained in sustainable agriculture and five food producers produced 27 sustainable labeled products (wines, olive oil and bread), which were sold to guests in seven participating hotels. Guests were also able to try the products during tastings or on excursions.

Project activities

  • Training at least 500 farmers on Crete and Rhodes on regenerative agricultural practices with a focus on climate protection and calculating the carbon footprint of food.
  • Implementation of the learned practices with 18 farmers on their own fields for 5 products: olives, grapes, bananas, avocados, honey and herbs.
  • Training of at least 6 hotels and at least 14 food producers to calculate and reduce the carbon footprint of food.
  • Training of at least 6 hotels and 14 food producers on regenerative agriculture and climate protection.
  • Development of a concept for local tasting events so that guests can taste regeneratively grown and produced food.
  • Implementation of training and workshops on regenerative agriculture for farmers and producers on Rhodes.

What does regenerative agriculture mean?

Regenerative agricultural practices contribute to humus enrichment in the soil. This removes CO2 from the atmosphere and stores it in the soil, which in turn improves the soil structure, increases fertility and makes the soil less vulnerable to extreme weather events. In addition, biodiversity in the fields is increased because chemical fertilizers or similar are not used.

Overview

News from this project

7/05/2024

New Futouris project creates tools and know-how for more climate-friendly product design

The Futouris project “Climate-friendly product design for tour operators”, funded as part of the BMWK LIFT Transformation program, has started with a successful kick-off workshop.

18/04/2024

Kickoff Workshop Climate-friendly Product Design

Employees from the 8 pilot companies came together at the kick-off workshop for the project Climate-friendly Product Design for Tour operators to discuss possible measures.

25/04/2024

Joint Efforts, Joint Benefits: Advancing human rights due diligence in tourism together

A special highlight was the panel discussion “Joint Effort, Joint Benefits” that we organized together with the Roundtable Human Rights in Tourism on the topic of human rights due diligence in tourism. The discussion was well attended and a complete success.

2/05/2024

New members in Executive Board and Scientific Advisory Board

Bei der jüngsten Futouris Mitgliederversammlung wurden die bestehenden Vorstandsmitglieder in ihren Ämtern bestätigt und durch Laura Steden, Director Corporate Responsibility bei der DERTOUR Group, ergänzt. Auch der Futouris Wissenschaftsbeirat bekommt doppelten Zuwachs von Prof. Dr. Nicole Häusler und Prof. Dr. Kerstin Heuwinkel.

Curious to know more about our other projects?

Together with our members, we at Futouris develop innovative projects and implement them in practice. Our projects are as diverse as our members. Our common goal: to preserve travel destinations and make the industry fit for the future.

Startseite » Projekte » TUI Field to Fork Greece

TUI Field To Fork Greece - regenerative Landwirtschaft in Tourismusdestinationen

Futouris und die TUI Care Foundation gehen mit ihrem Engagement auf der Insel Kreta einen Schritt weiter und arbeiten zusammen mit lokalen Partnern daran, Farmer und Lebensmittelproduzenten an der Umstellung auf regenerativer Landwirtschaft und der Verknüpfung der Akteure mit der Tourismusbranche. Ein Schwerpunkt hierbei ist die Reduzierung des CO2-Fußabdrucks der landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse.

Projektziele

  1. Schulung von Farmern auf Kreta und Rhodos zu regenerativen landwirtschaftlichen Praktiken.
  2. Unterstützung von bereits nachhaltig praktizierenden Farmern bei der Umstellung auf regenerative Landwirtschaft.
  3. Schulung von Hotels und Lebensmittelproduzenten zur Berechnung und Reduzierung des CO2-Fußabdrucks von Lebensmitteln.
  4. Vernetzung der Farmer mit Lebensmittelproduzenten sowie Hotels, um den Verkauf von regenerativ angebauten, landwirtschaftlichen Produkten im Tourismussektor zu steigern.
  5. Entwicklung von Verkostungsveranstaltungen für die regenerativ angebauten, landwirtschaftlichen Produkte für Gäste
  6. Übertragung der Ideen und des Konzepts aus Kreta auf die Insel Rhodos.

Auswirkungen der Klimakrise trifft Landwirte besonders hart

Landwirtinnen und Landwirte leiden besonders unter den Auswirkungen der Klimakrise. Der Verlust biologischer Vielfalt, Wasserknappheit und immer häufiger auftretende extreme Klimaphänomene führen zu Ernteausfällen und Ertragsschwankungen.

Gleichzeitig gehört die Lebensmittelindustrie zu den Hauptverursachern der Klimakrise und dem Verlust der Biodiversität. Bspw. trägt die industrielle Landwirtschaft zu ca. 25% zu den globalen Treibhausgasemissionen bei.

 

In einigen Gebieten der südlichen Ägäis in Griechenland sieht man bereits den Einfluss von Wüstenbildung und Bodendegradation. Dies führt zu einem wachsenden Bedarf an chemischen Mitteln, um die Produktion aufrechtzuerhalten und zu sichern, welcher wiederum den Verlust der Biodiversität und den Klimawandel verstärkt. Regenerative landwirtschaftliche Praktiken helfen Emissionen zu vermeiden und gleichzeitig CO2 aus der Atmosphäre zu entfernen und im Boden zu speichern, sowie die Bodengesundheit zu verbessern und Biodiversität zu schaffen.

Eine Umstellung auf regenerative Landwirtschaft wird jedoch durch verschiedene Faktoren erschwert, wie bspw. wenig Erfahrung und Kenntnisse über die grundlegenden Konzepte seitens der Landwirtinnen und Landwirte.

Futouris und TUI Care Foundation bauen Engagement auf Kreta aus

Um diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, haben Futouris und die TUI Care Foundation in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sustainable Food Destination Organisation (SFDO) das Projekt TUI Field to Fork Greece ins Leben gerufen. Das Ziel ist, 300 Landwirtinnen und Landwirte auf der griechischen Insel Kreta sowie 200 auf der Insel Rhodos bei der Umstellung auf regenerative landwirtschaftliche Praktiken zu unterstützen. Hierbei wird ein umfassender Lern- und Praxiszyklus implementiert, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf der Reduzierung der CO2-Bilanz der landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse liegt. Dies betrifft insbesondere die Produktion von Olivenöl, Wein, Bananen, Avocados, Honig und Kräutern.

Zusätzlich werden die beteiligten Landwirtinnen und Landwirte mit 14 Lebensmittelbetrieben und der Tourismusindustrie vernetzt, darunter acht Hotels, die Partner des Programms sind.

 

Das Ziel besteht darin, verbesserte Einkommensmöglichkeiten zu schaffen, das Angebot an nachhaltigen Lebensmitteln zu erweitern und Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sowie Touristinnen und Touristen für eine regenerative Lebensmittelproduktion zu sensibilisieren. Dafür werden Mitarbeitende der teilnehmenden Betriebe geschult, um die Vorteile nachhaltiger Praktiken im Betrieb besser zu verstehen und die Notwendigkeit und Dringlichkeit der Veränderungen zu erkennen. Das Ziel ist es, ein langfristiges Engagement und Interesse für das Thema nachhaltige Lebensmittel zu erreichen. Neben den acht Hotels ist auch eine lokale Einzelhandelskette Teil des Programms, um für Touristinnen und Touristen und die lokale Bevölkerung nachhaltige Lebensmittel anzubieten. Durch all diese Maßnahmen sollen nachhaltige Lebensmittelversorgungsketten im Tourismus und anderen Bereichen geschaffen werden.

Gemeinsames Projekt basiert auf Vorgängerprojekt auf Kreta

Das aktuelle Projekt baut auf dem gemeinsamen Projekt „Kreta – auf dem Weg zur Vorbilddestination für nachhaltige Ernährung“ auf, welches Futouris und die TUI Care Foundation bis 2019 auf Kreta unterstützt haben. Hier wurden die Grundlage für eine nachhaltigere Lebensmittelversorgung im Tourismus geschaffen, indem das Konzept der nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft eingeführt wurde und Verbindungen mit dem Tourismussektor geschaffen wurden. Insgesamt wurden etwa 200 Farmer zu nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft geschult und mit fünf Lebensmittelproduzenten 27 nachhaltige gekennzeichnete Produkte (Weine, Olivenöl und Brot) produziert, die in sieben teilnehmenden Hotels an die Gäste verkauft wurden. Zusätzlich konnten die Gäste die Produkte im Rahmen von Verkostungen oder auf Exkursionen probieren.

Projektaktivitäten

  • Schulung von mind. 500 Farmern auf Kreta und Rhodos zu regenerativen landwirtschaftlichen Praktiken mit Fokus auf Klimaschutz bzw. der Berechnung des CO2-Fußabdrucks von Lebensmitteln.
  • Umsetzung der gelernten Praktiken mit 18 Landwirten auf eigenen Feldern für 5 Produkte: Oliven, Weintrauben, Bananen, Avocados, Honig und Kräuter.
  • Schulung von mind. 6 Hotels und mind. 14 Lebensmittelproduzenten zur Berechnung und Reduzierung des CO2-Fußabdrucks von Lebensmitteln.
  • Schulung von min. 6 Hotels und 14 Lebensmittelproduzenten zu regenerativer Landwirtschaft sowie Klimaschutz.
  • Entwicklung eines Konzeptes für lokale Verkostungsevents, sodass Gäste die regenerativ angebauten und produzierten Lebensmittel probieren können.
  • Umsetzung von Trainings und Workshops zu regenerativer Landwirtschaft für Farmer und Produzenten auf Rhodos.

 

 

Was bedeutet regenerative Landwirtschaft?

Regenerative landwirtschaftliche Praktiken tragen zu einer Humusanreicherung im Boden bei. So wird der Atmosphäre CO2 entzogen und im Boden gespeichert, was wiederum die Bodenstruktur verbessert, die Fruchtbarkeit erhöht und den Boden weniger anfällig gegenüber Extremwetterereignisse wird. Zusätzlich wird die Artenvielfalt auf den Feldern erhöht, da chemischer Dünger o.ä. nicht verwendet wird.

Projektsteckbrief

Neues zum Projekt

8/12/2023

Erfolgreicher Kick-off für Projekt zu regenerativer Landwirtschaft auf Kreta

Mitte September fand im Creta Maris Resort auf Kreta die offizielle Auftaktveranstaltung des TUI Field to Fork Griechenland-Projekts der TUI Care Foundation in Zusammenarbeit mit SFDO, Futouris und Local Food Experts statt.

6/04/2022

Erfolgreicher Test von Alternativen zu Einweg-Plastikprodukten

Ein Test zu Alternativen von Einweg-Plastikprodukten zeigt fantastische Ergebnisse: Reduktion von Verpackungsmüll, Kosteneinsparungen und positive Bewertungen von Mitarbeiter:innen und Gästen konnten erreicht werden.

9/06/2023

Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung von Einwegplastik in den Hilton Hotels UAE

Die Pilothotels der Hilton Gruppe UAE haben im Rahmen des gemeinsamen Projektes von Futouris und schauinsland-reisen bereits erste Maßnahmen zur signifikanten Reduzierung von Einwegplastik eingeführt.

18/04/2024

Verstärkung in Vorstand und Wissenschaftsbeirat

Bei der jüngsten Futouris Mitgliederversammlung wurden die bestehenden Vorstandsmitglieder in ihren Ämtern bestätigt und durch Laura Steden, Director Corporate Responsibility bei der DERTOUR Group, ergänzt. Auch der Futouris Wissenschaftsbeirat bekommt doppelten Zuwachs von Prof. Dr. Nicole Häusler und Prof. Dr. Kerstin Heuwinkel.

Neugierig, welche Projekte wir noch umsetzen?

Gemeinsam mit unseren Mitgliedern entwickeln wir bei Futouris innovative Projekte und setzen diese in der Praxis um. Unsere Projekte sind so vielfältig wie unsere Mitglieder. Unser gemeinsames Ziel: Reiseziele bewahren und die Branche zukunftsfähig zu gestalten.